diy galaxy cosmic print shirt

DIY Galaxy Print Blouse

DIY galaxy print before and after

The other night my hubs took us to see Kimbra, my music and fashion ICON. I had to be dressed to the nines if I was going to be in the same room as her. So that’s where this galaxy print blouse comes into play.

I’m not going to even try and pretend that I came up with this, especially with how many great tutorials are out there. This one is my favorite, and I pretty much copied this technique:

Just like the crafty mastermind in the video, I chose a dark purple article of clothing. This will bleach to a really pretty pink , as opposed to black which bleaches into orange (like my hair when I try to bleach it by myself). Here’s what you’ll need:

Ok so I’m a huge dummy and accidentally used cleaner with bleach instead of actual bleach. As you can see, it didn’t have quite the desired effect. In my defense, the word “BLEACH” was in the largest font size on the label.

I ended up going to the store and picked up some regular bleach. Much better!

Thrifty Getup Details
Blouse | Goodwill: $6.00 + $3.00 in DIY supplies = $9.00
Maxi Dress | Uptown Thrift: $5.00
Boots | Buffalo Exchange: $15.00

The Kimbra show was CRAZY AWESOME…and LOOK LOOK LOOK! She’s a refashionista! The dress she wore to the show was the white dress she wore in the Come Into My Head video! It just needed some purple fabric, metallic green seaweed, and a blue Sailor Moon-esque jewel. Ugh, I love her.

I didn’t get many more photos or video because I was too busy dancing, BUT I love this clip of her at SXSW talking about how she puts together her wardrobe. We totally share the same philosophy! This is why I think we would be best friends.

26 thoughts on “DIY Galaxy Print Blouse

    • Hi Holly! My best guess is that it might have had something to do with the material content of the shirt. I think the bleach might work best on natural fabrics, i.e. cotton.

    • I think fabric paint is the way to go; I only used acrylic because it’s what I had on hand. It lasted for about 4 washes before it started to fade. Hope that helps!

  1. Pingback: Dare to wear? Cosmic Print! | Themuse.tv

  2. Pingback: » Galaxy Accessories! VT Meets NYC

  3. Pingback: What I’m obsessed with today… | victoria day to day

  4. Pingback: Simple DIYs To Update Your Wardrobe | Baron Of Style

  5. Pingback: Knock it off – A Refashioning Saga (Part 1) | tegan makes

  6. Pingback: DIY Galaxy Print T-Shirt | Lace and Buckles

Leave a Reply

