Oversized Button Up = Billowy Blouse

The first thing that caught my eye about this Contempo Casuals blouse was the color. Nevermind that it was way too big and made me look like I was drowning in magenta polyester. I think I wore it once and tried rolling up the sleeves, but it was a disaster. They kept unrolling and that’s when I knew something permanent had to be done.

I thought just shortening the sleeve length would do the trick, so I went ahead and cut ’em in half.

Step 1: Lay out the shirt and cut off one sleeve. I cut it at a diagonal so that when my arm rests against my body, the hem is even all the way around.

Step 2: Line up the sleeves and use the first one as a guide to cut the second.

At this point I tried it on to check the fit. I wasn’t diggin’ it, and after much deliberation, I decided to cut off the sleeves completely.

Step 3: Cut off both sleeves close to the armhole. I left about half an inch so I had material to use for a hem.

Step 4: Hem it!

Step 5: Pair with blinged out bow tie (optional).

4 thoughts on “Oversized Button Up = Billowy Blouse

  1. Super cute! I have a white long sleeve that I love! Except for the sleeves. You just gave me a great idea on how to refashion it. You are very talented!

Leave a Reply

