Rainbow Blouse = Peep Shoulder Party Top

If I find a piece of clothing at the thrift store that has three or more jewel toned colors I almost always immediately buy it, even if it doesn’t fit and will probably never come back in style. For instance, I bought a skirt that didn’t get worn until 6 years after I purchased it. Totally worth it.

I thought this blouse was going to meet the same fate. Luckily, it only took 6 months for me to wear it in public.

Step 1: Cut off sleeves and set aside for later.

Step 2: Instead of guessing new measurements for this blouse, like I did here, I wanted to use an existing shirt as a guide. I especially like this plaid top because it’s loose-fitting but still flattering (and also thrifted!). To use it as a guide I measured:
1. The shoulder.
2. The distance from the shoulder to the bottom of the armhole.
3. The distance from the buttons to the armhole.

Step 3: Apply these measurements to the new blouse, adding a half inch for allowance. Pin the shirt accordingly.

Step 4: Cut the shirt along the pins and sew the sides together.

Step 5: Measure the length of the armhole. This can be tricky because it’s a curve, but if you curve the measuring tape alongside it, you can get a pretty accurate length.

Step 6: Sew a seam into the sleeve so its opening matches the new armhole. Cut a curve into the sleeve that will make the peephole.

The red line shows the piece I cut out. If I could redo it, I would actually cut along the white line instead:

Step 7: Pin the sleeve to the armhole. It’s a bit hard to see because of the colors, but it’s best to line up the bottom center seams (basically where your armpit is) and start pinning there.

Step 8: Sew on the sleeve. Leave about a half inch on either side of the seam. Use that allowance to create a hem.



The Limited Rainbow Button Up | thrifted: &3
Pink Skirt | sample sale: $1
Shoes | Urban Outfitters on clearance: $20
Purse | Urban Outfitters on clearance: $30

8 thoughts on “Rainbow Blouse = Peep Shoulder Party Top

  1. Pingback: { REVISED } Weekend Destination: Las Vegas | KateSpanish

  2. This is a fabulous tutorial! Thank you for including such in depth photos and instructions! I will have to look through my blouses and see which one I can turn into a masterpiece 🙂

    Btw: I love your ombre hair. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

