Geriatric Pants = High Waisted Colorful Skinnies

Ever since high school, when the trend of flared bottoms died out to the skinny jean, I’ve been taking in my pants so they fit much more snugly. I remember thinking that these were just for emo kids, but I’m glad they’ve stuck around (although I am becoming much better acquainted with the wide leg pant and we are getting along pretty well).

As a color lover, it’s only natural that I’ve been curating a collection of colored pants over the years. I decided that it was finally time to start thrifting and altering some – it’s much easier on my wallet. Enter some grandma pants.

Step 1: Turn the pants inside out.

Step 2: Lay out a pair of skinny jeans or pants you already like. Hint: It’s most important to line it up at the crotch.

Step 3: Pin a sewing guide.

Step 4: Sew along the guide and make your skinny pants!

My blogger friend Beth did a similar tutorial, and her pictures are much better. See it here!

2 thoughts on “Geriatric Pants = High Waisted Colorful Skinnies

Leave a Reply

